Why is it advised to find the deal first ?

16 Replies

Hello,

Newbie here trying to absorb as much knowledge as possible. So I've listen to BP for a bit now and there is a reoccurring phrase I hear not only from the host but other investors and that is "get out and find the deal first". To be honest if it's what I think it is it frightens the hell out of me. I assume this means search for a deal and place an offer. This makes me nervous because I ask what if you don't have resources solidified.

Question:

Is that what the statement means?
If so how do you circumvent no money?
Could this cause issues in the deal?
Is this general practice?

Thanks
-Darren

Taking action and purchasing property without funding are two different topics.  The BP hosts encourage the first one and some investors promote the latter.  The premise behind finding the deal first and the money will follow simply comes from the ability to likely wholesale a deal, at a minimum, if it's a really good one.  You will have to find the funding one way or the other (which takes effort) and you have to respect the seller and be able to close.  I'm a proponent of finding the funding first but to each their own...lot's of successful strategies out there.