Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Anne Herron
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Newbie/first deal. Please help me run the numbers!

Anne Herron
  • Los Angeles, CA
Posted Feb 6 2017, 09:14

Hi all,

I'm new to BP but have been reading and listening to as much as I can in the last few months. My husband and I live in and love LA. I run my own business here, and in the short-term (10 years-ish), I don't see us leaving this city. I've got about 35K in cash that I had originally been stocking away towards a down payment, but since finding BP, I'm realizing I could be doing a lot more with that money and thinking far more creatively. I have no desire to create cash flow that will allow me to leave my current field- I love my work and my business is in great shape. But I do want to invest in real estate, and I'm eager to learn from those willing to offer advice.

The most attractive option we've got currently involves a family member. She owns a home in the Pacific Northwest and has been renting it successfully for 20+ years. It's in the best possible neighborhood in the city (according to friends, realtors, and the county assessor), and she wants to sell to us below market price. We're not interested in significant monthly cash flow- I envision holding the property for a few years, doing some light rehab along the way, then reselling and walking away having hopefully at least doubled our initial investment. Here's the sticky part. This is a family member I love and care deeply about. She needs the money, and though I am very excited to have a back door into a great rental property, I don't want to take advantage of her. She originally quoted us a price that, according to comps, is at least 25K below what she could get, if not more. So, we're looking at setting a purchase price in the coming months, and I'd really appreciate feedback on what numbers make sense and what numbers don't, given our goals. Here are the numbers I can count on: