pre-foreclosure deals

9 Replies

Hello everyone, I am completely new at this, just began researching different aspects of REI a few days ago, so bear with me if i seem like a numskull.

I have been able to find information on most RE subjects online, but I am having trouble with one in particular. I heard through an aquaintance, whom i can no longer get in touch with, that it is possible to create a deal with a homeowner, who has missed a couple of mortgage payments and is in danger of foreclosure, to give a cash incentive and take over his payments to the lender and he signs over the deed to his house. Basically, I am wondering if this is legit? do people actually do this or was my aquaintance just blowing smoke up my bum? if so, what is the legality behind it? is it possible for a borrower to simply transfer his loan into someone else's name? I appreciate any and all information you all can give me on this topic. Thanks for your time.

What you are describing is called an assumption. They are out there and I am sure that a number of people on this site have made money off of them. I'll let the mortgage experts weigh in on this better than I can, but I believe most mortgages now-a-days have assumption clauses that preclude this.

The bank would want to know about this. So going under the radar is ill advised.

Good Luck,

NavyDoc

Thanks for your help Doc,

Well, with that being said, do any of you mortgage experts out there know which banks in particular (preferably in the NY/NJ area) that do not have assumption clauses? Also, with that information, how would I go about initiating an assumption? How much liquid capital would one need for such a thing? What should I look for when researching potential properties to assume? Again, any information beyond that would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot.