Votes
Jihyoung Kim
  • Raleigh, NC
Votes |
preapproval and relocating after disability

Jihyoung Kim
  • Raleigh, NC
Posted Jul 11 2017, 19:53

Hello! I've been a Pro member here for a couple of weeks now and studying everyday to get started in REI. I'd love some ideas from the experienced. :-)

My first goal is to purchase a small MF property in southern Utah before the end of the year and start house hacking.  I have no dependents and no homeownership, so I'm paying a lot of taxes -- want to change that soon.  I'm in the process of making my to-do list to reach this goal, but a little unsure about the correct order of doing things.  A bit about my situation and questions:

1.  Timeline - move to southern Utah before the end of the year, because I want to select medical insurance during Open Enrollment (11/1 - 12/15/17).  My current medical group does not exist in Utah, so I must choose a new policy.

2.  My disability benefits officially end this month.  I've been working part-time since 8/2016.  I was laid off in 2012 and diagnosed with cancer 3 months later while on unemployment (yes, I just celebrated my 5-yr survival!).  I will increase my hours to full-time.

3.  Taking a trip overseas next month.  Realistically, I won't be able to start looking to make offers until September.

4.  Currently my credit files are frozen.  I'll lift the security freeze for a few days for preapproval.

5.  I know 2 years min employment history is necessary for loan approval.  Before the layoff and the cancer, I had 18 yrs of corporate experience.  Then I didn't work for 4.5 years.  Still working part-time.  Is this a good time for me to apply for a mortgage?  I certainly don't have enough to pay cash for any decent property right now.  I will need a loan.

6.  If no loan, I'll rent for a year... in southern Utah.  Los Angeles is not a good place for someone in my financial situation, so I'm moving no matter what.