Newbie to Wholesaling

8 Replies

Hello All,

I am new to wholesaling and I must admit that I am a nervous wreck. I have watched videos that has given me a bunch of information. I have joined plenty of groups, read and heard plenty of success stories and here I am eager to start but I am the type of person who is so scared of messing up that it holds me back. That is where I am today.

Do any of you have any suggestions for people just starting out? Solutions, motivation, tips, lessons learned, helpful tools to use or anything? I have seen different ways to possibly go out to find sellers, such as bandit signs, landlords and the MLS. Is there an easier way? Do you suggest that a newbie has a mentor? Anyone in Chicago willing to be a mentor?

Any help at all is appreciated!

Hi Shana! Congratulations on stepping out into your UNcomfort zone! lol that is where success happens. If I ever find myself getting comfortable, I pretty much know I am not doing **** lol so EMBRACE the fear. Having mentors, and building a team is going to be essential to your success. I suggest starting a buyers list. There are many facebook pages that have ready buyers. Networking events are amazing. Why have you chose wholesaling as your place to start ? Just Curious.. By the way, my team and I are buyers and we are always looking for some good deals, so we can definetely talk about that. Though we try to stay out of Cook County..

@Gail Govednik Well since being uncomfortable is the first step, consider me moving on to step number 2 now! lol Awesome advice, I have been looking into networking events I guess my next step should be business cards then because i have nothing to hand out at these events, unless I hand out my current business cards as I am a real estate agent, but nothing on them mentions that I am an investor as well.