Having Trouble Finding Way to start and finding a mentor

14 Replies

I am new to real estate investing. I have joined a local REI group and I am still trying to understand where to start. I have been told to just pick an area and jump in ( mulit fam, fix and flip, buy and hold,etc) I know there are things you will have to learn on your feet but I am having trouble just jumping in. I know it also comes in time with finding a mentor but every where I turn I feel like its some kind of school or class. I know that nothing is free but it seems like there isn't a person who could use some help in a flip even if its just carrying supplies or helping where ever I can. I am looking for some kind of guidance.

Thanks, I know that this a long question.

My advice?  Do NOT just jump in and do not pay for a class.  Personally, I recommend going PRO here.  You can watch the old webinars and get a lot of knowledge.  But even if you don't do that, just watch the future ones.  Also, read the blogs and forums.  You can't tell by my numbers that I joined less than a week ago.  I'm VERY involved.  I comment on other people's comments and vote for posts I think are great.  I've already gotten like 15 Colleagues in 3 days (it took a couple of days for me to jump in and start interacting) and some of them just wanted to be my Colleague because I voted for their post.  lol