How much should you pay for Real estate networking

6 Replies

Hey guys, I am just starting out, I have a background in Finance and a good idea how to run the numbers but am looking for a mentor in the NYC area to show me how to work this tough market or at least to talk to investors and find what pockets they invest in inside/outside the city. I want cash flow and I know most people in NYC are looking for appreciation causing home prices to be crazy high. So I looked at joining my local REIA which I thought was free. I may be simply inexperienced here but is this reasonable? It just sounds a lot to me like a guru bootcamp. What are your thoughts? Advice welcome

http://www.reianyc.org/memberships

Don't pay to join a group, there should be free options somewhere.  I'm not familiar with the New York market but it is very possible that cash flow is nonexistent or very rare unless you are willing to venture away from the city or you are willing to put up a large down payment.

@Adrie Moses-bailey Welcome to BP. This is where you can get your real estate education. We have people on here with experience in every niche and market there is. Take some time to read the forums, participate by asking questions, listen to podcasts, webinars, etc. 

Have you searched the Local forum for your area? NEW YORK FORUM Post on there with subject:  Bronx New York Investors? 

Also you might look on meetup.com and see if there's any real estate investing groups. 

Originally posted by @Karen Margrave :

@Adrie Moses-bailey Welcome to BP. This is where you can get your real estate education. We have people on here with experience in every niche and market there is. Take some time to read the forums, participate by asking questions, listen to podcasts, webinars, etc. 

Have you searched the Local forum for your area? NEW YORK FORUM Post on there with subject:  Bronx New York Investors? 

Also you might look on meetup.com and see if there's any real estate investing groups.