New investor from New Jersey.

15 Replies

Hi I’m new to REI and I’m looking for some advice. I am an Army veteran and I qualify for a VA loan. I have strong credit and a pretty good income. I am a homeowner as well. I have around 100k in equity in my house now which was the first house I bought. I am looking to sell my house and buy another fixer to live in and to buy a flip and fix house to flip. I will do all the work myself. I’m looking for a good real estate agent and a mentor in my local south jersey Philadelphia area.

@Jordan Lewis go Army! Welcome to the site. Be aware there may be changes coming up to the taxation of primary residence sales, make sure to talk to a CPA specializing in real estate when you sell your home.

When are these changes coming?

Hi Jordon and welcome to BP!

How Can I contact you Tom if I needed to ask a few questions.

I just researched it a bit. It seems to say you have to live in the residence 5 years. I’ve been in my home for 6. So I hope I wouldn’t be affected this time.

Hi Jordan,

You are correct.  Both the House and Senate tax reform proposals would change the holding period requirement for the Section 121 capital gain exclusion on the sale  of a primary residence from 2 out of the past 5 years to 5 out of the past 8 years.  It also limits how often you can claim this exclusion to once every 5 years (instead of 2).

However, it is politics so who knows if the tax reform bill will become law.

On a side note. I am looking at a property that I found out will be in an online auction. What is the process of acquiring a home like that if I do not want to deplete all of my funds by buying it cash?