New Investor in Greater Seattle, WA

4 Replies

Hi Everyone! 

I've been a member of BiggerPockets for a while now, but since I just got my Pro membership, I thought it was worth re-introducing myself. 

I've been dabbling in Real Estate since about 2014. Rather than tell the whole story, I'll give you the bullet points: 

• Bought first rental property in 2014, have managed it on my own since. During that time, did full renos on both units, and got the rents up more than 50%. 
  • Quit my full-time job as a Product Manager at SharkNinja to work at a start-up Development company in the Greater Boston area. We did more than 12 deals in Year 1 of operation. 
  • Dabbled in private lending.
  • Got my Real Estate salesperson license.

I ended up leaving the Development company for personal reasons, and then traveled the world off and on for 6 months while doing some Marketing Consulting for a few small businesses. 

Now I'm back I want to transition to Real Estate investing full-time. I'm going to be moving to Seattle in a few months. When I do, I'll sell my property on the East Coast and will have a nice chuck of equity to invest. I'd like to start building a portfolio of a commercial multi-family within an 30-90 minutes of downtown Seattle; the short-term goal being cash-flow, long-term a potential sell-out. I'd love some help with the following: 

1. Where can I find a partner ? I don't want any wannabes. I'm looking for someone who is really going after it. Someone that 1) wants to build a portfolio of commercial multi-families, 2) can be a thought partner on how we're going to make this portfolio a reality, and 3) can hold me accountable. In exchange, I'd be bringing some equity, an eagerness to learn, and time (I'd make this my full-time gig). 
  2. Any resources you recommend? They could be books. They could be specific podcasts. They could be MeetUps. They could even specific websites / new publications.