House Hacking Advice

6 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets Forum,  I am brand new to real estate and looking to make my first deal. I live in the boston MA area and am looking to make a house hacking deal. I am hoping that some experienced investors can share some of their storys with me. Im looking for advice and tips before i jump into it.

@Peter Goeller

Good luck with your decision on jumping into RE. It really depends on your situation. Are you single, with family? How are you financing? Realistically what are the numbers in Boston? How much down do you have? What's the market like in your area? Do you have knowledge in the construction area? All things you should ask yourself. Single or family I ask because if you can take the smallest unit you can bring in more rent. You need to know your market, numbers, etc... If you're doing FHA you also need to realize you are likely not going to be able to get the best deals, but you can get a decent deal. I usually tell people to do their numbers as they are doing 25% down and work on getting to that, then refinance and stabilize the property. This is when you put less than 20% and have to pay PMI and in hot markets like NYC, which I'm sure Boston is pretty similar.

If you have more specific questions post them up to get better answers. Good luck buddy!

@Peter Goeller Welcome to BP!  I suggest looking to the south.

The Boston market has lost its collective mind.  Prices are astronomical and I don't see any reasonable deals around with the exception of a few in Mattapan and Roxbury - but even those are rapidly gentrifying.

If you look a bit to the south, you can still find some reasonable prices.  The west side of Brockton, Plymouth, Pembroke, Middleboro, Kingston and a few other areas to the south can still produce some good values - especially if you can do some work on the properties.