First steps as an out of country investor

16 Replies

Hi Everybody,

I am Nate, and this is my first forum post. 

I have been investing in stocks for a few years now, and I would like to start investing in real estate as well. I currently spend most of the year living in Israel but also spend some time in NY. Therefore, I plan to buy properties remotely. My goal in real estate investing is to "buy and hold" SFRs and Multi-Families, so that I can earn a consistent, passive cashflow, allowing me to quit my day job if I wanted to.

Thus, my first item for consideration is to choose the right city and state to start purchasing investment properties.

My requirements:

1. Landlord friendly state - Average eviction of under two months.

2. Good ROI - not hard to find properties complying with the 1% rule

3. Growing population

4. Multiple Fortune 500 companies in diverse industries.

What are your thoughts? 

Do you know areas which follow these requirements? 

Do you think there are any additional essential requirements I haven't listed?

Thanks for your help! 

@Nathan Cedar I am very found of the Raleigh-Durham, NC area. As long it is A or B class properties, it is very easy to find good management, evictions are relatively easy to do, it has an extremely broad economy (RTP has tons of large companies), has a light rail system in the works, and the main airport now has a couple direct international flights as well. 

Finding deals that meet the 1% rule are there, but they take a little work. There are also tons of small suburb cities around that have deals as well.

@Nathan Cedar You've got a great start but I would like to add that you should also consider your personality type and investing style. For instance, you might like the idea of buy and hold but if your personality type is akin to a trader's mentality, it will be hard following on your plans. It is best to play to your strengths.