Getting that first property

3 Replies

Hey guys,

I am currently a student at Indiana University. I have been interested in the real estate industry since I started at IU, but since I am a student it is a challenge to get a lot of capital to invest. I have heard of sheriff sales and commissioners sales as a cheaper way to enter the industry, what are your thoughts on those options? Any help, comments or tips are appreciated. Thanks.

@Cameron Engstrom  

Getting started is the hardest part!

1. Determine a strategy on which to focus.

2. Understand how the strategy works

3. Build relationships in the local market with investors who are executing the strategy. (Attend meetups, BP, etc)

4. Once you understand the fundamentals of the approach, you will be able to understand where you can bring value to a deal and what you need to execute the deal. 

At the outset, you have identified that you need capital to get started.  If you learn how to identify opportunities, explain why it's a good opportunity and sell your ability to execute the strategy, you will be able to attract partners to invest in your deal.

@Cameron Engstrom - by far one of the easiest ways to get started when you are young is to house hack. If you haven't seen it already, check out the webinar and article Brandon Turner did on the subject.