New at Wholesaling and NOTHING is working....

43 Replies

I'm totally new to Wholesaling and I have heard it was a challenge, but I just spent over $400 at yellow letters.com and listsource.com for direct mail marketing, I'm putting up bandit signs, I'm driving for dollars, and nothing seems to be working. I went to a Real Estate Meetup and the speaker said "Are You having trouble getting your phone to ring" - I just didn't think I would have to spend hundreds of dollars and have no results. 

I literally have tons of buyers...asking me for houses....but no leads. 

Does anyone have any tips on how to get more leads as a Wholesaler? 

@April S. I would agree with Jay on this.  You have to spend way more money to get results which is why I don't wholesale at this time.  I don't have the money to spend on marketing.  Your particular area also may not have very good leads compared to another state, county or market altogether.  For instance I'm not investing in my home state of Georgia because I have found far better deals in Indiana and Ohio.  The wholesalers I've worked with tend to go into the ghetto or low income neighborhoods that are older and have more success there because there are more desperate sellers there.  If you're targeting areas where most of the residents are on solid financial footing, have good jobs, and don't need or want to sell then you'll want to switch to a different C or B class area of the country.

Also, while I know having a real estate license can have negative consequences for investors (that's a whole other argument), getting your license could help in some cases because the individual selling knows you are reputable and know what you're doing.  Sometimes the unlicensed wholesalers can come off as cheap, unreliable or just downright shady.  If you don't have our license, consider getting it.

404-405-2792

The gurus promise EVERYTHING..including taking your money for their courses:)

John Thedford, Real Estate Agent in FL (#BK3098153)