One of those "I'm new" posts

9 Replies

Hello everyone!

I am new to bigger pockets and real estate investing.  Excited to learn and share growth with this awesome community! I am in the process of building my real estate team and the whole thing is really exciting!  I will help where I can as well. Thank you all

@Adam Ferro Welcome to BP! I just got back from your fabulous city. It had been 20 years since I'd been there and hopefully it's not another 20 before I return. 

What kind of investing are you going to focus on?

@Ryan Murdock Thank you! a lot has changed in 20 years huh? 

I am focusing on 3-10 unit multi-family homes in the North Denver area. I do not have very much initial investment to start so I am looking at raising capital and coupling it with a loan, but I don't know if that's the best way to go about it. I know if I occupy one of the units in a 4-plex or lower i could possibly qualify for a FHA to help my down payment. Any suggestions would be of great help.

If you're short on cash the 3.5% down FHA loan on a 4-unit is probably your best bet. I know the Denver market is pretty hot so you may have to search patiently to find something that cash flows. Once you get to properties with 5 units and above you're into the commercial lending zone. Terms are less attractive and the down payment requirement is usually 20% or more.

If you cruise the forums and listen to the podcasts you'll find all sorts of creative strategies to do more with less (or no) money so there are other options out there. 

I've got a keen eye out for deals, also working with local realtors to help with the search. From the current market it should be easier to find than a single-family investment property (rolling eyes). Thank you Ryan, I've read a couple great articles and books but have not listen to any podcasts so I will try that.

welcome!

This place will suck you in if you let it! Lots of info here to take advantage of and lots of smart people willing to help.