Information Over Load? Where Do I Start?

8 Replies

Hi everyone I signed up for BP a few months back but life got in the way and so I am just now starting to engage and ready to truly commit to Real Estate Investing. My issue is that I have been reading various education materials on how newbies should start and have flustered myself. 

Is it ideal to join an REIA (Baltimore for me) before jumping in? I know Real Estate Licences are encouraged and I agree but is it crucial to have before I proceed on? Or are the learning the other trades as in title Agent and Mortgage Broker better?

(267) 476-1106

Hi Kristen! I'm just starting out in Baltimore myself so I completely understand the information overload. I have been researching real estate investing for the past year and half! And while I think all of that information has been a valuable foundation I know that, for me at least, it's time to get off the sidelines and start taking action.

I personally don't think it's necessary to get a RE License, or work in any kind of RE related job, unless that's what you want to do. If you think you'll find that work fulfilling then by all means do it, but if you're just doing it for what you'll learn I'd say you're better off doing something else and getting professionals on your team.

Definitely go to REI meetings, you'll find a lot of them both on here and on meetup.com and while you're there start making friends. But most of all: take action! Drive for dollars, define your criteria and analyze deals, etc. Don't create more barriers for yourself to overcome by thinking that you "need" to do X, Y and Z before you start. Educate yourself, meet people and take action. Just my two cents as a guy who sat on the sidelines for too long.

Good luck to you! Feel free to reach out to me if you need moral support :)