Laid off before starting...What now?

9 Replies

I'm pretty new to the industry.  I didn't start out planning to become a landlord, it was just convenient due to a personal medical situation.

After everything cleared up I formulated a plan to jump in to the industry so that I could retire early. I'd planned to sell my current 4 bedroom rental property and purchase a duplex-fourplex for my first step.  I moved back home and saved some money so I would have a good down payment.  Soon as I was about to hit my goal I was laid off, argh! My current rental property pays for all of my exenses, but the cash flow is very small.  This is the 2nd time I've been laid off, and I am done with attempting to build a career in someone else's corpration.  

Now that my job is gone, I have to figure out a new plan.  What would you do in this industry if you lost your stream of regular income, but were sitting on $15,000? ($15,000 is not the total, but I'm a person who prefers to have a financial fission of 3-6months.)

What are your goals in terms of your career or what you want to be doing? If I were in your shoes, I would have a career goal of what I wanted to do and take actions that moved me closer to that goal. You're fortunate that you have that rental property to cover your obligatory expenses but do not get comfortable. If I were you my hair would be on fire and I'd be trying to find a job, any job, to bring in some income. Hope that give you some insight and that your luck turns around. 

Unless you can partner with other people, you’ll need to make income. If you really not successful being an employee, how about try to build a business in real estate? Like property management or short term rental.

@Lori Jones . Given that you don't have a lot of cash nor lots of experience, I'm afraid you might still need to get a job to bring in some income while you continue to build your experience in Real Estate.