Househacking / FHA / Multifamily

19 Replies

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the industry, hoping to buy my first rental property this year. I'm considering using money from my 401k as a downpayment on an FHA loan. I want to househack a multi-family and live in it for a year or two, then move on to other properties.

Does anyone have any advice/experience with FHA loans, or other lenders in the Wisconsin area?

Has anyone ever used money from their 401k to jumpstart their real estate investment company, I'm a little nervous about using retirement money?

Any advice you provide is greatly appreciated?

Best Regards,

Heather

@Heather M Long , I would advise not using your 401k as a downpayment since you'll be incurring different penalties for early withdrawals and such.  You also don't want to disrupt the compounding interest that the 401k is producing.

With respect to FHA, I purchased a duplex using an FHA loan as owner occupant in Virginia and the process was seamless. I would advise talking to different realtors and asking which brokers they are used to working with. I recommend talking to local smaller banks as well. That is how I found my broker and quite frankly, I now have been using him for any financial questions I have regarding real estate investing.

Hope this helps and good luck!

i would speak to your CPA about the 401K money, it most likely be a taxable event, so interest and penalty will probably apply, FHA has a 3% down product, so if you need 3% from your 401K you probably are not ready to buy, just my opinion. to clarify when you say multi family how many units are you talking about? 1-4 is considered residential and normal owner occupant loans work, 5+ you are in the Commercial world.

FHA is an option if you dont have much money saved up, but the loan itself is not great, its fine for some buyers, but as a broker i will say they are a pain to get closed usually.

Penn Tran and Scott Schultz,

Thank you.