Getting started in New Haven, CT

3 Replies

Hi, I am currently an application engineer in Westbrook CT. I want to get into the real estate game and was thinking of buying a condo in New Haven to live in while renting out the other room for a year or two before buying a multi-family home in Branford, CT. What should I look out for and how exactly should I go about doing this? Should I start a real estate company? Get an HFA loan? There are so many ways to get started, what should I do?

My end goal is owning 5 rentals in the next 6 years

It sounds to me like you're overthinking it. Assuming your credit is decent, you should simply connect with a lender to line up your financing, then start looking around for a condo in New Haven.

@Connor Wallace

Welcome, Connor! 

There's a wealth of information on Biggerpockets and I would suggest doing some self-educating on the different aspects of REI through the "Education" tab up at the top of the site.

To be a little more specific, search for "House hacking" forums and blog posts to get a more in depth look as to how to get started with your condo and /or multifamily plan.

Also consider why a condo and not just a multifamily to start...

I could almost definitely say you don't need a RE company at this point.

Like @Cameron Norfleet said, you could start with reaching out to a lender to see what types of financing you will qualify for. 

Above all, dig through the site a bit and learn a bit before acting. It could save you big time.

Feel free to reach out with any specific questions. There are always people here to help.

Good Luck!

@Connor Wallace