About to make an offer on my first Multifamily house hack

10 Replies

Hi Everyone, I'm very new to all of this and need a little bit of advice.

I am currently working with a real estate agent that I know personally, I will be her first multi family purchase shes new to real estate but has a mentor at her company that has been doing it for decades and provides a lot of assistance though she isn't available very often so we are sometimes on our own and learning as we go.

I have been renting the same place for the past 10 years and the owner is selling so now I have to find another place to live, instead of renting for over 1k/month I decided to purchase a multi family, at first I was looking for duplexes but then came across a 3 unit the asking price is 180k, it is two 3 bedrooms and one 2 bedroom, it has a 2 car attached garage, washer & dryer hookups in each unit, newer heating systems tenants pay all their own utilities except sewer and water which is roughly 2k per year the house also has 3 seperate large storage areas above the garage, and it also has a decent sized back yard. 2 tenants have been there for over a decade in the 3 bedroom units and 1 tenant has been in the 2 bedroom for about 6 months. I would live in the 2 bedroom with just my daughter and I.