VA loan MultiFamily properties.

6 Replies

Good morning everyone,

I’d like to start off by saying I am new to this community and I appreciate everyone’s time. I am a veteran, 25 years old, living in Seattle, WA. I recently paid off all my debt and rent is my only expense.

My rent is $1705, water and sewage $60, electricity roughly $70 and I make about $110k a year. Undecided whether I should use my VA loan and purchase a duplex which is about $380,000 zero down and use the down payment money for repairs and upgrading each unit.

On the other hand I can remain renting in Seattle, save money and invest on multifamily property outside the state of Washington. States of interest Florida and Texas. Lastly, I thought about skipping smaller multifamily and going straight for commercial. This will require to be patient and saving money over a course of 3-5 years.

I'd use the VA if you can. Not everyone can get a free duplex! You could likely cover your monthly costs once you get a renter in there. Then, you could save up very aggressively to invest in out of state since you'll have next to no expenses.

Thanks @Ryan Evans

The real challenge now is to find a duplex in this competitive market in the greater Seattle area.

Hello Esteban,

Finding a duplex in this crazy market is not as difficult as it may seem. There's actually a solid amount of multi-family inventory on the market right now, but finding a seller that will accept a VA loan on a good multi-family deal can be challenging. I work in the greater Seattle area primarily and can send over some examples for you to have an idea of what's available if you would like.  

@Esteban Hermosillo yep, the hard part has yet to begin! Finding a good deal, let alone one that will take a VA won't be an easy task, but you just gotta stick with it.