Five year strategy...

11 Replies

My goal is to own 40-50 properties (or doors) within 5 years. My overall "why" is so I can finally sell or dissolve my company and live off these rentals for passive income. The question now becomes... what strategy should I use to get there the fastest and safest? I am just starting out and trying to figure out my next move knowing it could make or break my plan. Knowing my timeline, do you think it's feasible (and wise) to start by going hard-core into wholesaling, then build up into fix & flips (for fast profit), and then rolling all of that income into buy and holds with the BRRRR method? Part 2 of this question... the forums and podcasts always talk about keeping your W4 job to show the banks income stability. I don't have that since I have owned and run my own company for 17 years. It was hard enough to get a loan for the home I just bought in Denver so I would love to hear from other self-employed people here about their experience in RE investing! If it matters, I travel most of the time for work but technically split my time between Orange County, CA and Denver. I'm interested in investing in Omaha but also looking into other areas as well. TIA!

@Julie Hill What option(s) you decide to take will be dependent on: 

• Balance sheet  - how many $ are you willing to invest, how quickly and for how long;
  • Time commitment;
  • Risk/return expectations - newbie investor only look @ returns, whereas they should be focusing on understanding risk
  • Liquidity and risk tolerance - closely linked with the earlier point on risk/return expectations.

I would focus on picking a niche and taking a deep-dive. By trying to do everything at the same time, you will end up going nowhere and wasting valuable time, money and efforts.