Trying to learn via automation.

7 Replies

I'm interested in "buy and hold" investing. I wanted to code my own web app that will 

• Look up listings across the US or area i'm interested in
  • It will cross reference the crime rate and other data
  • It will also look at craigslist rents to see if the area meets the 2% rule

As you can tell I'm shooting off the hip  with the data to incorporate.  I'm new to all this and I don't know which pieces of data can help best filter my decision.

P.S: If anyone knows a good sites with an API that has data to work with, I would much appreciate it.

@Lulli Debrosse

This is just my opinion, so take it with a grain of salt, since I don't have the full scope of the data sets you'll be looking into, but I'm also employing automation/AI/Machine learning to locate fire damaged properties, nationwide, so I'm speaking from the point of having looked at crunching data on a large scale. 

The thing with this approach is that, as you're aware, RE is local; sometimes, very granular, and the amount of time you would have to expend considering, first to see what data sets you'd need to collect, then figuring out how to interpret that data, I believe is not the best use of time. 

I have a programmer friend who's also looking to launch something using automation, nationwide, but since there's no congruency in RE data across the county, or even from city to city, the hurdles you'd have to over come can be daunting.  

It may have some merit down the road, if building the infrastructure to do something like this supports the validity of having scaled something to that level, which then can be used for multiple purposes, including but not limited to locating the best buy & hold assets. However, if it's for personal use, and depending on your time line, initially I would stick to markets you know, or interested in and get to know that area and run numbers based on your criteria.