Trying to learn about MFR

24 Replies

Hey All,

I'm brand new to real estate investing and am trying to learn more about MFR. How would you guys recommend going about this? If you have any suggestions on books or other educational materials, please let me know! I live in SD, California and want to invest out of state because I am interested in cash flow, which doesn't seem very possible here with the current real estate environment. Thanks a lot!

Best,

Eric

Originally posted by @Ali Boone :

What are you trying to learn about MFRs?

Hey again Ali, thanks for the reply. To be honest, I am not sure where to start. I was hoping there were some books that cover a broad spectrum of information regarding MFRs. I am trying to figure out what I should learn before actually investing in them.

I would just start reading about landlording, buying rental properties, etc. The basics are the same regardless whether you’re managing a single family, 4-unit, or 20 unit.

You need to learn about finding qualified applicants, vetting them, leases, rent, fair housing, eviction, security deposits, etc.

The main differences on SF and MF is where you find them and how you finance them. The day to day process is the same (until you have large enough MF that you’re hiring staff)

Originally posted by @Eric Levy :
Originally posted by @Ali Boone:

Hey again Ali, thanks for the reply. To be honest, I am not sure where to start. I was hoping there were some books that cover a broad spectrum of information regarding MFRs. I am trying to figure out what I should learn before actually investing in them.

Well the first consideration should be- if you are talking about MFRs, are you talking about residential MFRs (2-4 units) or commercial MFRs (5+ units)? Those are totally different animals.