House Hacking in an Expensive City

9 Replies

Hey everyone, I am new to the BP Forums, but have been listening to the pods for a while now. I'm 23 and live in Chicago and am want to buy a duplex/triplex/4-plex to live in and rent out the other units. I have been looking at a handful of potential deals and the majority of them barely cashflow or are negative if I include myself paying rent (in theory to cover the mortgage). In these scenarios I am assuming a loan of 3.5%-5% down as I do not have the capital for a larger down payment in the expensive Chicago market. I haven't seen many deals less that $600K for where I am looking and some of the deals are up to $1-$1.25M.  

Does it make sense to buy a deal where I am paying the same amount as I currently pay for my rental to help cover the mortgage and at least own the house? Or should I look for deals that make more sense return-wise in other smaller/less expensive markets? The way I see it is that renting a house is basically burning money. 

I am just starting out so I have a good grasp of underwriting and concepts but not a great baseline of what I should expect for returns, especially in a "House Hacking" scenario. Has anyone else had this issue?

Sometimes house hacking doesn't always go positive, especially in an area like that. So you may have to pay a very minimal amount of mortgage but its still a very good idea. Also look into buying a home around 600k etc. with multiple bedrooms and rent out those rooms to people as well. This method will almost always give you positive cash flow but you will end up being a little closer in proximity to your tenants which can be a downside for some people.