Made My First Offer!......And Got Laughed At :( (With Numbers)

46 Replies

Hello all,

My name is Franky Davis and I am relatively new to real estate investing and a newish member to BiggerPockets. Let me start with a little about me. I'm currently an orthopedic surgery resident (year 3 of 5) and have had an interest in the small business world and real estate as long as I can remember. I had a landscaping business in college, have dabbled with multiple online business opportunities throughout my educational career, and have continued to read and read about real estate investing. However, medicine was a big draw to my humanitarian side and would provide me with some job security. 

Over the past year, my interest has really peaked. I have listened to 80+ episodes of the podcast, read multiple books, and begun scanning my local market of Chattanooga, TN for deals that would be possible for my wife and I (Special Ed Teacher). This has been a tough search due to our financial situation with my student loan burden and relatively low resident salary. However, I have stayed persistent and some non traditional financing options have gradually presented themselves.

Recently, I came across a deal that I thought had some potential. It was a subtle craigslist post in my local market for "A 4 Duplex Package Deal". This was originally listed at $275,000. I thought, "Hmm...that sounds interesting". Upon further investigation, I discovered that these were currently 100% occupied, C-class properties near the downtown Chattanooga area in C class neighborhoods. "Ok, let's see who's listing them."