Advice on Refi: How does NOI & CAP Rate Correlate to Value?

18 Replies

Hi BP,

I'm new to investing and looking for some help understanding NOI & Cap Rate and how they correlate to value. Specifically, will a commercial lender value our property with with these metrics for a potential refinance?

Here is some quick background:

• 4-plex in Philadelphia, PA
  • Purchased with 3.5% down FHA loan in 2016 for $700k
  • House hacked for first 2 years
  • Renovated each unit as existing leases expired
  • All 4 units now vacation rentals (Airbnb/VRBO)

Because we originally purchased the property as our primary residence, we got a great rate (3.25%), but are locked into FHAs mortgage insurance.  Additionally, we have been able to drive significant rental income growth as a vacation rental property and I'd now like to try to unlock some equity to fund our next deal.

---

I've read several of the great resources on BP and I feel like I have a working understanding of NOI. Please correct me if I am missing some line items here, but here are the working numbers for the property:

+ Gross Rental Income: $150,000

- Cleaning Fees: ($21,600)

- Management Fees:  ($19,260)

- Property Taxes: ($3,700)

- Insurance: ($2,400)

- Trash & Local Tax: ($650)

- Utilities: ($7,200)

- Pest Control ($560)

- Supplies/Maintenance: ($1200)

- Acct/Legal: ($1500)

TOTAL EXPENSES = ($58,070)

Net Operating Income = $91,930

---

Based on my limited understanding of the local CAP rates for similar properties in Philadelphia, PA 19106 it looks like 5-6% is a realistic number. Let's call it 5.5% for simplicity.

Now we have:

• NOI: $91,930
  • CAP Rate: 5.5%
  • Value: ?

And if the working equation is: NOI/Value = CAP Rate

Does this mean the value of the property is now $1,671,454?  

Is this how a commercial lender would potentially value the property?

Any insight or feedback would be awesome!  Thank you!

Your math looks correct. As the Cap Rate % goes down, the Property Value goes up.