Engineering in RE (career change suggestions)

4 Replies

Hello beautiful people of BP, 

This is an atypical post, and not necessarily in the perfect sub-forum, but can't find a more fitting one. 

Long story short, I'm considering a career change that can use my current skills and also help me learn more about REI and/or RE development.

I'm currently a project manager at an engineering firm. I used to do, and sometimes still do, HVAC and plumbing design for commercial projects. So I have regular contact with architects and obviously other engineers. So I work on real estate all the time, but in a different capacity. 

With that in mind, please note that I am not soliciting a job here. I would appreciate any suggestions on what I could actually do, or types of jobs I should my resume to. I would like to think that I could be valuable in house to companies that are redefining spaces where I could assess the mechanical needs for the reconfigured space(s). 

Anyway, any thoughts that could help me "start out" another career is more than welcome. I don't know what I don't know! 

MEP can be very lucrative depending on the area you focus.  Healthcare is solid.  If you are interested in a carrer change and become more involved in RE, how about a construction management option at CBRE, Habitat Company, or other real estate managment firms?  You can also consider large general contractoring firms.

Good luck, 

Frank

Originally posted by @Frank S. :

MEP can be very lucrative depending on the area you focus.  Healthcare is solid.  If you are interested in a carrer change and become more involved in RE, how about a construction management option at CBRE, Habitat Company, or other real estate managment firms?  You can also consider large general contractoring firms.

Good luck, 

Frank

I work for a large enough company that just about most fields such as healthcare are covered. Multifamily isn't a very large sector of the company I work for though.