Young couple looking to house hack

47 Replies

Hi everyone! My husband and I graduated from University in the Spring, we both have full time W-2 jobs, no debt, a 780 credit score, about $25k saved, and live in Salt Lake City, UT. We’d really love to house hack, but are unsure of how to find the best deals or if we even have enough to get started. Any advice for us newbies?

Hey @Heath Ryans ! Great questions! We’re looking to live in a until of a multi family complex. Ideally a duplex, triplex, or fourplex. It seems they’re pretty scarce or we’re just not looking in the right places. What’s your expertise?

I would do an FHA with 3.5% down. What area are you looking? Anywhere in the salt lake valley? I scan listings everyday. Come across a good one once every few weeks. I'm happy to foreword the hotsheets If you would like. Another good idea is keeping your eye out for homes with basement apartments or mother in law.

@Cherie Orellana that's what we've been thinking about, but we are worried about the mortgage insurance, closing costs, etc. and are wondering if it's really the best option? We've even looked into a 203k depending on if we decide to buy more of a fixer-upper. Do you know much about those? We're looking mostly in South Salt Lake, North Salt Lake, and anything that's East of I-15 in the Salt Lake Valley. I would love to receive the hotsheets, if you don't mind. We are also keeping our eyes out for basement apartments and mother-in-law.