Residential rental in Folsom

11 Replies

I am a newbie investor looking to invest in the Folsom area. Plan to rent it to out for a few years and might eventually move there. Any pointers on which parts of Folsom are good ? How does Rocklin compare relative to Folsom?

Hi Sudhir. Folsom and Rocklin are pretty different. I suppose part of that is because Rocklin is along an interstate highway and Folsom is along a state highway. Also, there is a significant rail line traveling through Rocklin. They both have great schools and positive crime statistics. Folsom is the top place to raise a family and Rocklin is 13th (WalletHub 2018). I can contribute more information if you ask specific questions about either. I moved to Folsom in 1989 and went to college in Rocklin, 1995. 

Hi Sudhir, I just moved from Bay Area to Placer County. When we were relocating, I wish I had someone who could easily explain the lay of the land here to me. It took us months to really understand differences between cities of Rocklin, Roseville, El Dorado Hills, Folsom, Granite Bay, Loomis, Lincoln, etc

Feel free to message me and I can share with you the differences very easily, happy to help :)

Great contribution Sunny. I’ve often wondered why more people from out of the area don’t ask for help to “explain the lay of the land” to them. If I was moving my family to an area which I was unfamiliar and making a substantial investment, I think it would be really helpful to have a local contact which would give them unbiased advice. 

Hi Sudhir, imho Folsom is #1 place to live in the Sacramento area.  We moved here in the 90’s because of Intel and love it although it is starting to really grow.  Look up Folsom Ranch and see the development they are doing.  FolsomRanch.com.    Not too sure if this w/b the place for non-personal residential investment.  Feel free to reach out if you have any questions.