ISO House-Hacking/ Multi family rental information

11 Replies

I've been reading books on real estate for over a year now and really started to get more serious about educating myself pretty recently. I'm a recent college grad that just started working in Boston. My goal is to successfully house-hack a property to the point where I can live for free while building equity in a property. Unfortunately right now I don't even have enough saved for a 3.5-5% FHA down payment since I'd be an owner occupant.

It's not that I feel like I've hit a stand-still, because I'm still learning a lot of new material everyday. However, I'm at the point where I feel like I generally know enough on how to house hack but:

1) I lack the capital necessary for a down payment

2) I lack the experience of going through the process and dealing with tenants/ lease agreements

Any suggestions on financing a deal like this and/or gaining experience?

@Matthew Roder to give a little more context, my income after all my expenses is only about $650-$700 per month due to my commute, student loans, car etc. I'm more than willing to "just do it" but I'm looking for other strategies to come up with funds. Specifically wondering what creative financing methods might be applicable in order to get to that point faster. I'm saving all of that extra money to get to a point where I CAN do that down payment but it seems like a long ways away.

To my second point, finding tenants isn't a worry of mine considering where I'm looking to do this. It's more the paperwork/ contracts/ background checks that I don't have experience with.

Are you looking to buy in Boston or outside the city?  Figure out the area you want to be in and learn it cold.  Set up automatic emails on Zillow for that area or multiple areas if you're still narrowing it down.  

This is an easy step and will help you know a deal when you see it.