Pay Student Loans or Invest

15 Replies

Hello everyone, 

So I just graduated as a pharmacist last year and like most health professionals I graduated with massive debt. I've set my mind to be aggressive in paying my debt (4-5k a month), which would allow me to clear my name in 2-3 years, however, it's psychologically and physically draining. I feel like I'm running in place. I can certainly tough it out another couple years and pay off my debt, but I wanted some advice on whether investing on rental properties is a smarter option. Some facts about me that may apply:

1. My student loans run at 5% or less

2. I'm just beginning to learn about real estate

3. Because of my lack of experience, house hacking is probably the only viable option for me

4. I live in metro Detroit, so far I haven't encountered very good deals. I'm not sure if it's the area I live, the economy/market, my house hunting abilities or a combination of all three

Thank you in advance for your thoughts!

@Adnan M. That's a tough question that a lot of people are trying to figure out. There really isn't a straight answer because it depends on how you are wired. For some people, the burden of the loan debt can be incredibly powerful and take a major toll on you. Based on the numbers you provided (5% or less interest rate), it would likely be in your best interest to start investing sooner rather than later as you can make your money work for you better by investing it.

Considering your experience level, my suggestion would be to build up capital to invest over the next year while still paying down your student loans (though maybe siphoning some of that 4-5k/month toward investment capital) so you can take some time to learn the fundamentals, network with other investors, find your market and niche, and have the capital ready to put to work in a year or so.