Buy and Hold Length

8 Replies

Hello,

When using the BRRRR strategy or the Buy and Hold Strategy, generally how long should people hold their properties? And on top of that, does the length depend on the deal, market, or where the investor is with their progress? Meaning, if I am just starting out, should I generally try to buy, renovate, lease, and then sell the property quicker than I would if I already had a numerous amount of units under my belt?

Thanks,

Nate Witte

@Nathan Witte  

The purpose of the BRRRR method is to gain cash flowing rental properties without permanently tying up your own cash. By the time you get to the Refinance part, you should already or be close to having a paying tenant in place. That allows you to then pull all your money out and Repeat (buy another property).

Your hold time is completely dependent on you. If you go through this process, the point is to hold the property and collect the monthly cash flow. You hold the property for as long as you wish to continue collecting the rents. There is no recommended time, just depends on your goals. But after 1 year, you won't pay capital gains taxes if you sell so you should atleast shoot for that.

So when should you sell? Also depends on you and your goals. Maybe you believe the market is at it's peak and it would be a good time to get max value from the home. Maybe you found a bigger multifamily deal and need the extra capital. Maybe you just hate that property and want to redirect your capital. Maybe it doesn't perform like you thought.

It all depends on you. I know I've said that a hundred times now, but it really is. 

Originally posted by @Nathan Witte :

Hello,