Have 50k How do i get into the game?

1 Reply

Im a licensed agent and a licensed contractor. Ive saved up 50k with hopes of transitioning from contracting to Realestate.

I gave two goals. 1st is to accumulate enough properties to support my wife and i through our retirement.

2nd is to transition into real estate as a full time career. Id like to specialize in investment properties (multi family etc).

I have friends in the SEO marketing world and employees in my office interested in taking on some of my new direct mail marketing.

How would you handle the $, the transition, the marketing?

$50k should be plenty to get into the game with your first deal. It sounds like you're looking to buy and hold for rental income which is what I do. In my opinion there is no need to get fancy with marketing yet. Work your network as an agent and tell everyone you know that you're looking to invest in real estate. You'll be surprised how many people you know are or were involved in real estate at one time. And keep an eye on MLS, I still find deals there occasionally. See if you can find a motivated seller and if $50k is not enough for a 20% down payment in your market you could househack or try to get some seller financing. MLS deals may need a little tweaking to work, but a 10% price reduction with some seller financing goes a long way. I'd say start there, and save your marketing $ until you need a firehose of deals on tap to make your business run.