How to Pick a Market?

5 Replies

Hi everyone, I'm new to BP. Five years ago I sat next to an older woman on a plane leaving Kauai. She owned a home there and told me how real estate allowed her to travel and live wherever she wanted. She also told me to buy three properties--that they'd come in handy when I got older. So I'm here to make it happen.

Currently I own a condo in Chicago. I plan to sell it and buy my first investment property, either a multi-family or a single-family that I can rent.

I'm looking at three markets: Detroit (I visit regularly and like the direction it's headed), Atlanta/Macon area (I grew up there and still have a network there), or staying put in Chicago. What do you look for in a market, i.e. how do you know a good market to invest in? Also, any books or podcast recommendations for getting started would be much appreciated!

Hi Janelle, welcome! I also recently joined BP and started becoming interested in real estate investing. Since I'm also currently trying to identify which areas I would like to invest in, here are some factors that I am considering:

Landlord laws - Is the state you're investing in more renter-friendly or landlord-friendly? I know Illinois is more renter-friendly compared to Indiana for example.

Population/and income growth - Is the city/county you're investing in growing? If it is, you'll have more demand and can command a higher price for rent or sale.

Tax rates - Higher taxes will lead to a lower ROI all else equal and it might be easier to find better deals in a low property tax area.

Hope this helps!

@Janelle A.

Welcome to BP!

As @Ranny Ma mentioned, you want to look for markets:

1) with population growth

2) with job growth

3) infrastructure

4) colleges

5) large employers that are there to stay and not be kicked out by the next Amazon

6) low to moderate crime

7) landlord friendly states