Newbie Going To First Foreclosure Auction

6 Replies

Im a total newbie going to a foreclosure auction in Dallas and Collin county in Texas next month with my business partner.  We are going to evaluate and research what happens at foreclosure auctions and learn how many people are playing in this field in our market.  We have purchased a list and are scrubbing and evaluating what we would offer on the homes to compare to what they are auctioned for.

My question, any advice or things you would share with someone who is preparing to go to their first foreclosure auction?  Thank you for all advice and wisdom sharing 

its highly market dependent.. some markets like most of the west coast its a HUGE money game if you cant show up with more than a million in cash.. your pretty much wasting your time.. 

in other markets there are still deals at 5 to 50k all day long .. so those you have a good chance of buying something.

its a good ole boys system. you will see the regulars that are there and dominate.. like in Vegas there are two hedge funds that buy probably 80% of the deals.

You cannot focus on a single property as many times that property will not go to sale.. now some areas are different and more consistent.. IE once they are published 90% chance they will go.. but then you have the bank bidding them up to a full credit bid which can be more than the value of the asset so you do all this work and the property you wanted for 50k gets bid to 75k and you cant figure out why ? well PMI is why.

So bottom line depends on the market and the opening bids.. and the process.. its still viable in a few markets I fund folks that buy court house steps stuff monthly..  WEst coast though its a fraction of what we used to do..