New Agent Advice Needed

7 Replies

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie on BP and also in real estate. I am starting my real estate course next week and I would love some advice.

What do you recommend I do before, during and after classes start? What is the best way to market myself? How do I look for the best place or person to work with? How do I build a portfolio? How does pay work? Should I start part time? I just need and would be grateful with all the advice, recommendations, pros and cons, do’s and dont’s you can give me! I am very excited and eager to start and excel in this industry, so any and all advice is appreciated!

Also I am in the North Jersey area close to NYC and all major highways. Any tips for a new agent in this area? Is another area recommended?

Thank you for reading my post and helping a prospective new agent like myself! :)

@Yisell Perez congrats on getting started with your license! While you are in your classes I would recommend that you send a letter or card to everyone in your sphere of influence letting them know that you are becoming a realtor. I also would recommend that you start reading good books on how to get started. One of my favorites is by a fellow BP agent, @Mark Ferguson . His book, How to Make it Big as a Real Estate Agent, was the best book I read and was easily the best $12 I spent when I was getting started. 

My mother in law was also an agent in the area you mentioned for 25 years. If you want, I can put you in touch with her to get her take on things. I would think the NJ area would be an excellent area to work as the housing prices are high which should equal strong commissions. 

Decide if it's really something you are interested in and NOT just for the money. So many see the money and think they want to do it.

I have been doing commercial for about 16 years. Residential cane be lots of nights and weekends with endless calls and disruptions to your family especially starting out.