Should I look at a different career?

11 Replies

So I am currently 25 years old. I live in Orange County, California.

I am just learning the basics of real estate investing. I am about to finish my undergrad in history next fall. I am planning on obtaining my teaching credentials. After all teaching is the most I can do with a history degree. Apart from this the degree is useless if you were to do anything else. I am currently living with extended family. As of right now thankfully I have been able to live rent free due to the generosity of my family.

I currently work a part-time job earning $15.94 for about 25-30 hours a week with a monthly salary of about $1200-1300

As of right now I have managed to save about $6000 with about another $6000 in retirement and genera investing combined.

Eventually I would like to get more into real estate investing. The only thing is that given my current situation and also going into teaching at least here in California it doesn’t seem like I would be able to afford anything. The cost of living and the need for a down payment seem way too much.

Do you think I should be looking at another career? I do have an Associates in Business Admin. As much as I like teaching I am thinking about the practicality of looking at other career options such as being a financial advisor, working at a bank, or simply pursuing say a Bachelors in Business Admin. Since these tend to be higher paying careers.

I started my undergrad during the great recession, and early on I switched away from history because the average history major - at the time - made less than the average high school graduate with zero college. 

History is awesome and I love it, but the job market largely doesn't care that you know the various legends about where croissants came from, or have a strongly held opinion on if Christopher Columbus was a good guy or not.

What about making investing your full time career? No degree required.

Theres so many paths you can take.