1031 deadline approaching - Huntsville / Birmingham - Help please

11 Replies

This is my first time expanding my portfolio - doing a 1031 exchange. Was focusing on Huntsville and Birmingham area- (I have a few properties already identified and on hold - paperwork not submitted yet). 

Truth be told - as deadline approaches (Oct 24th)...I started getting second thoughts about the area - I haven't spent too much time there and began searching "everywhere". I have family and friends in the area an am relocating east (Prob NC) in about 6 months to be closer so this is an OOS investment - mostly - for now. -But my original property was OOS for over a decade, so I've experienced the ups and downs.

Any thoughts or opinions about investing in Huntsville or Birmingham?

Thanks in advance,

Rob

Huntsville is on the move and although deals are harder to find (especially flips), buy and hold seems to be strong and all indications show it will be for quite some time.

Job growth, nationally recognized cost of living scores and rent and property value appreciations are a few important indicators that Huntsville is a win. 

Originally posted by @Robert Duffer :

This is my first time expanding my portfolio - doing a 1031 exchange. Was focusing on Huntsville and Birmingham area- (I have a few properties already identified and on hold - paperwork not submitted yet). 

Truth be told - as deadline approaches (Oct 24th)...I started getting second thoughts about the area - I haven't spent too much time there and began searching "everywhere". I have family and friends in the area an am relocating east (Prob NC) in about 6 months to be closer so this is an OOS investment - mostly - for now. -But my original property was OOS for over a decade, so I've experienced the ups and downs.

Any thoughts or opinions about investing in Huntsville or Birmingham?

Thanks in advance,

Rob