Kitchen Remodel Question

23 Replies

Hello, I am just getting started in real estate, as this is my first BRRRR project. I am 23, so I lack experience. I have read countless books. However, I know how important experience is, and any advice would be much appreciated.

Below, I have posted a picture of a specific kitchen that I am remodeling. I prefer to keep as much of the cabinets as possible and just paint, replace hinges and handles. I am not sure if I should move the sink and replace it with an oven or place an oven in another place. Furthermore, I can't figure out where to put a fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. Also, should I add some cabinets or an island? I have a budget of $12,000, excluding flooring. Thank you in advance. 

-Callen Stewart

Lubbock, TX

Is your total budget $12K for property or just $12k for the kitchen? 

IMO I do not believe it is going to be worth trying to save the cabinets if you are adding a dishwasher, range, and microwave vent into them. Also, depending on how the counter top is attached you may end up destroying the bases when you remove it (some people like to screw and nail counter tops down.... it is a pain). 

If you have $12k just for the kitchen then you should be able to find some new middle grade cabinets and lay out the kitchen in a way where the fridge, range, dishwasher, and microwave all fit in and look like they were meant to be there. 

I completely agree with @Jon Reed and would advice to start with a clean slate. Those cabinets are really dated and no amount of paint and hardware will make them look nice. Even as a rental property I'd want a more modern kitchen. Once you factor in the layout issues it's a no brainier. 

I see discounted shaker cabinets all the time online. It would transform that kitchen and add the value you're looking for. You could DIY most of the project (counter tops installed professionally) and save thousands of dollars.