Looking for some perspective on my situation

4 Replies

Alright so to start I want to give you some background. I have worked as a bartender for the last 8 years of my life. Paying off all debt and saving money. Recently became a real estate agent. Closed a deal in the first two months, not a relative. I want to segway out of the service industry but walking away from a 70,000 a year pay check has got me hesitant. I’m new to real estate and the wholesale market. I have amazing credit 825+ some savings, no debt, no kids and a track record of accomplishing goals that I set for myself. I would like to make real estate/investing a full time gig. I’m looking for advice of any kind. Where to start. How to start. How to make my credit score and savings work for me through investments. I’m not looking to get rich quick. I’m interested in playing the long game. Hints my job that I have been at for 8 years to get myself to this point. Thanks for any advice.

Being a bartender is a great position to use as you ramp up your real estate career. You can work both as you build up your clients list as a Real Estate Agent... or if you have enough money saved up (and fee comfortable with the risk) you can just quite being a bartender and dive head first as a RE agent. 

As far as where to start... start with go to the Bigger Pockets Bookstore and buy up all the books on real estate. Read them. Then buy your first property.

There is no magic steps to follow for success (but there are basic principles.. which are in the books), everyone's story looks different. Good luck and kill it out there!

@Zachary Peek When you say you want to make real estate/investing your full-time gig, what aspect of real estate or real estate investing are you thinking?  Where and how you start depends on what aspect you want to focus on.