Out of state investing

13 Replies

Hey everyone my name is Luke and I am just getting into real estate investing. I'm still learning and trying to do as much research as possible.

I currently go to school in Utah but I am looking to invest in Tennessee where I know there is a great market. Being new, I could use any and all advice or tips about out of state investing and specifically how to find a great real estate agent in the market your investing in.

Thanks for the help!!

Hey @Luke Nafrada I was in similar shoes to you a few years ago. I would reach out to people in the specific market for connections/referrals. Work on building your team first (to get more comfortable and build a pipeline). Realtor/wholesalers, PM and contractor are the main ones to start with.

Welcome @Luke Nafrada

Out of state BRRRR is a great way to get started in real estate for low to no money down if you find the right deals. It's how I got started, but I've since transitioned to 100+ unit apartment buildings.

My advice: locate and select your market FIRST. Tennessee is a big state, narrow that down by looking for cities with population growth, job growth, industry diversity, high occupancy and lower crime.

Once you select a market, build your team:

1) Wholesellers and real estate agents

2) Property Management

3) Contractors

4) Lenders

I would also advise finding a good mentor, even if you have to pay for it. I had one starting out and he saved me thousands of dollars and countless time off my learning curve getting started. I good mentor will save you 10x what their program costs.

@Luke Nafrada What attracted you to Tennessee?

I went straight to out of state investing and would echo some of the thoughts above.  For some more actionable steps here are a few things that I've found that have proven somewhat successful.

(1) Narrow down your search to a few specific neighborhoods/zip codes.