Advise on finding absent owner of property?

13 Replies

Hello, I am new to this and asking for advise on how to find the owner, or her relatives, of an abandoned house. I have reason to believe that the owner of record is deceased (not sure). Could someone advise me as to the best way to search for possible relatives who may have inherited the property? It has obviously been vacant for a few years and is very fixable. No one else seems interested, seems like a good opportunity. Thanks for any input....

You can also get in touch with a Title Representative and they can find that info for you. Realtors can do that for you. Its funny, I'm starting to thing that title reps might be the best people to know. They are a great resource!

It seems I picked a tough one to start out with. I have checked the courthouse records and have the owners name. Her only listed address is that property (vacant many years). She is exempt from property taxes in this state because of her age and there has been no death notice listed at the county level, so the property taxes will remain exempt until a new, younger owner is recorded, so it will not be available for a tax sale. I have reason to believe she is deceased, but no record of her death exists at the county and the state will only issue death certificates to relatives. I also checked the deed hoping to reach the person who sold the property to her. Only his name was listed, no address and there is no record of him owning other property in this county. I have tried all the free searches I can find and it has brought me closer to neither. Today I am mailing letters to people who live near the property asking for information. If that doesn't work then a skipsearch for relatives is the only alternative I suppose. Are they really accurate and reliable?

Here are a few ideas depending on where you live.

1. Check the tax collectors office to see where the tax bill is sent.