Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Alan Ayala
Votes |
In need of some House Hack advice!

Alan Ayala
Posted Nov 14 2020, 21:28

Hey guys I've been doing some research on house hacking for the past 3 months and I think I'm ready to get my feet wet.

A little about me. I just turned 21 two months ago, I have a FICO credit score of 759 and I make 100k a year through w2 salary. I work as a software engineer in a pretty stable company so I'm not super concerned with losing my job. Even if I did, my expenses right now are pretty low and I am confident that I could use my skills to pay some of the property expenses myself if I had a high vacancy for some reason.

I just recently moved to Milwaukee, WI to live near my mentor. The opportunity cost of staying in Houston became too much.

MY GOALS:

• I don't want to pay rent anymore
  • I want to have at least a few hundred dollars of positive cash flow
  • I want to build on an asset instead of throwing rent money away building someone else's
  • I want to gain experience as a landlord and a property investor
  • I want to live in a relatively safe area
  • I want to live in an up and coming neighborhood
  • I want the property to have some kind of added value potential, meaning I can fix it up a little bit and not pay a premium on a turn-key property

PREAPPROVED LOAN DETAILS:

• 30 Year Fixed FHA
  • Purchase Price: $350,000
  • Down Payment Required: $12,250
  • Base Loan Amount: $337,750
  • (Damn I can't find my rate. what kind of rate should I be looking for?)

PROPERTY I AM LOOKING AT:

• Purchase Price: $219,000
  • Property Type: Triplex
  • Year Built: 1902
  • Unit 1: 3bd 1 1/2 bathrooms
  • Unit 2: 3bd 1 bathroom
  • Unit 3: 2bd 1 bathroom
  • Estimated SQ FT: 3,216
  • Owner pays: water, sewage
  • Tenant pays: gas, heat, electricity