Becoming an appraiser first

8 Replies

I posted this in another forum, but wasn't sure which topic it should be under. Hopefully I'll get some responses here:

I am just getting started in the whole REI thing (excited!!) and some of the people I have talked to have said that becoming a licensed realtor is a good way to learn areas and start out. I'm not a fan of that idea at all. The whole point of me going out on my own is to be more flexible and have my nights and weekends reserved for my family. The idea of tromping around town with buyers at a moment's notice 7 days a week is the opposite of appealing to me.

So that brings up the question -- would it be just as good to become an appraiser? What is the life of an appraiser like? Don't they have the same MLS access that realtors do to allow them to do their work?

If anyone is an appraiser, knows an appraiser, or just generally knows more about the profession that I do (that would be about all of you), I would love your input.

Thanks!

I dont know anything really about this, but I bet it would make you a better investor.. But also, I would think that you would learn the ins and outs of adding value to a home.. Ummmm, you got me thinking.. Good Idea, IMO..

Is it like real estate agents where I need a broker-type person above me? Or can I just go out on my own and do appraisals when I feel like it or just skip the job part of it if I'm more interested in my own investing activities?

Thanks for all your help.

I know that here in Nevada you need to work under an appraiser for a period of time before you are able to go off on your own. That does make some sense so that you don’t have a bunch of unqualified people doing appraisals. I don't know how much freedom you actually have but it is worth exploring.

8)