Jobs for college students to learn about rental properties

6 Replies

I am a full time college student and I am planning on graduating next April with a degree in accounting. I am extremely interesting in learning about real estate investing, specifically multi unit properties, house hacking, and eventually would like to transition into commercial real estate.

I am looking for a good part time job that I could learn all about what I mentioned above. I have heard that an Assistant Property Manager might be good, but I want to confirm on what would be best for my goals.

Thanks in advance!

Jayden, it's great that you are looking to learn more about RE and working in a Property Management company would be a great way to start. However, like Eric said, it's not going to be a "great" job. You are probably looking at an admin-type position coming straight out of school. What you could do is get yourself an normal accounting job and continue to learn about RE through books/podcasts/etc. Start to pull in good W2 income so banks will love you, and then get yourself a duplex to house hack or just buy a SFH to "learn" how to be an Investor. Real Estate is a get rich slow plan, you're likely not going to be the 0.1% of young investors you hear on podcasts that "went from 0 to 48 units in 6 months!" Just be patient, especially in this market, and you'll be up and running soon. Good luck!

@Jayden Espinosa

This was definitely how I felt several years ago when I graduated. I would definitely not recommend going and working for a property management company to start when you're comparing salaries to being an accountant. Getting the accountant experience on your resume will make it easier as a contingency plan to fall back on with a quality salary if something ever happens in your future.