Purchasing seller leads

10 Replies

What luck? With which provider(s)? Cost?

I've been purchasing buyer leads for 3 years w/ good success, great ROI. Now thinking about doing same for seller leads. Got a call from Market Leader which strikes me as a bit pricey (one high end local zip code quoted @ $52/lead/mo., they'll guarantee 11/mo. for a total of $621/mo. including a required fee for CRM). 6-month minimum means a fairly significant cost for what amounts to an experiment.

Hoping to shed some light with your help on the likelihood of success with this source. Thanks for any replies!

Promotion
Motivated Leads
Marketing For Investors…By Investors
We Get Houses For Real Estate Investors
We help investors get more off market deals from distressed sellers.
Learn More

@Jeff Weissman

I have tried various methods to get Internet seller leads since 2008 with no success with landing pages. The one thing I found that works is email and telemarketing to old Internet foreclosure leads. These people have already tried to save their house. The ones who are successful often go back into default within a year.

Very few sellers seek out websites to sell their home to investors or to find a short sale agent. There is nothing in the deal for them so they don't go looking for it the way a home buyer does.

The one method that was effective was a website that sellers could use to list their property themselves, for free. I had a site like this in 2001 but when I lost the developer, the site died because of lack of support and revenue model.

I have had great success from this when working in South Florida market but was able to "try before i buy" with a shorter initial contract. I would say that if they believe the quality of their leads justifies this price they will give you a trial on them to show you this and then i am sure with success you would go in for longer contract.

With some arm twisting no doubt you will get a test/taster period.

Good luck

Hi Jeff,