Conversing with the other agent

7 Replies

Little background:  I am a newly licensed agent.  I haven't had a transaction yet.  I have a couple buyers clients who aren't really motivated, and no listings yet.  Needless to say - I DONT KNOW THE ROPES!  Hahaha.

My husband and I are looking to pick up our first investment property with cash. We viewed a property listed on MLS yesterday that I'd be very interested in - but for the right price. I filled out the feedback form and the selling agent promptly emailed back "Make an offer" (which is just something he does I guess. we've viewed a few of his properties now and he always emails back within an hour the same thing)

What is the protocol here for opening up lines of communication?    Can I respond to his "Make an offer" email with "How much will the bank accept?"  

I just don't know how to be a real estate agent yet :(

I am a relatively new agent as well and have found that some agents aren't as conversational as others. I've even dealt with one who would only text! Oh my. On the feedback form, I would keep your feedback short, very concise, and sweet and end your feedback with the statement "writing an offer, expect within 2-3 hours". This way, you are setting the expectation that you are serious. Then, with the offer, include a cover letter that goes into more detail about how you arrived at your offer. Always open your letter with how great the house is, what you like about it, the amount of potential it has and why your offer should be the one accepted. And remember, it's a numbers game, even when you are an agent. Hope this helps!