Agent Avoidance

29 Replies

Why would real estate agents who claim to be "investor friendly", not want to work with an investor who is wholesaling?

From my experience, it's because wholesalers generally don't want to pay agent fees.

Also, wholesaling depends on you acquiring the property for less than it's worth, and if you do that, the agent will receive less commission.  If you can buy a place for 50,000 and sell it for 100,000 ... the agent gets 1/2 his/her commission ... and you get 50,000 minus fees and closing costs.

You'll have to establish a relationship with the agent and help her understand that she can get something out of it as well ... and then you'll have to tell her what that something is.

Wholesaling, at least as I know it is a harder sell.  I am a broker and investor in TX, and the wholesellers around Austin want $5k to get a property.  That is 5k up front with no option time. 

From a broker's stand point, that is a huge risk if I rep the buyer.  I want them to get an inspection and do some homework before they close the deal.  Also a buyer can start the process of buying a home from a non wholeseller for less than $1000.  It's even worse if I rep the wholeseller.  They often times know nothing about the property, and are not going to give the buyer any time for an inspection.  From a brokers standpoint, we want things nice and slow, lots to time to understand exactly what we are buying, and for the most part refundable if things are not as we expected.  We do all this so we don't get sued.