Getting Licensed for Rehabs

5 Replies

I'm contemplating getting my R.E. license to make my rehab deals more profitable. But I'm unclear on the broker/realtor structure. If I get licensed as a realtor, I have to sign up with a broker in the area, correct? And if I decide to purchase a home with the intent to rehab, in theory, I can keep 3% of the sales price, both when I acquire (if listed on the MLS) and when I sell, correct? But a percentage of the commission goes to the broker? If so, what's the customary split.

And if I acquire a deal off-market, how does my license affect the sale?

Lastly, because I don't intend to become a realtor as a profession, do I have to sign up with a broker or does the law state otherwise. I'm Texas, if that makes a difference.

Thanks for any clarification?

Here's the thing you got to go interview some brokers and on this form is knocking to give you great advice I don't think

There's two kinds of brokers that I know of, the first type is a 50-50 split and they pay for training and I like Keller Williams 

read their books on Amazon 

millionaire real estate investor, millionaire real estate agent, and shift are great books

There are other types of brokers that will cost very little per deal but you need to go find them 

small brokers that will charge a small amount of money or a flat fee per deal

The best place to start is your REIA president and ask him if you do get a license who's the best realtor broker to hang your license with if you're fixing and flipping

I am not licensed in Texas but I doubt it is that different from other states. Yes, you do have to work for a broker. The split between broker and agent is whatever you and the broker decide. A beginning agent will likely get a 50-50 or 60-40 split but here are many other costs you will need to pay to belong to National, State, regional associations as well as mls fees, E&O fees as well as stationary, gas, continuing education to name a few.