Learn How To Learn a New Market Fast. (Possible Discussion?)

8 Replies

As a new Realtor, I notice that the mass majority of the public expects us to to know everything about every house in every subdivision in your state. 

Maybe you met someone like that or maybe you haven't, but We can at least agree that knowing about more than one market has it's advantages, fair?

Thinking about this, I crafted a list of simple defining questions, that if worked through, can simplify the approach to learning a new market:

"What exactly does it mean to know a market?"
"What is nice to know and what is required to know about the market?"
"What are the top 10 most common questions people have regarding the market?"
"What's the minimum I have to know about any market that will give the average person the impression that I'm competent?"

By no means do I think you become an expert with those questions alone, but I do feel you can better overcome the initial "information overload" that comes with learning a new market area and give yourself direction. 

What do you think? Let me in on the conversation in your head!
How usable do you feel this is for the new agent? or the experienced agent breaking new ground? Is there a better way? Or am I just grasping at straws to try and simplify the impossible?

I would love to talk about this.

Originally posted by @Jerome Harrod II :

As a new Realtor, I notice that the mass majority of the public expects us to to know everything about every house in every subdivision in your state. 

Maybe you met someone like that or maybe you haven't, but We can at least agree that knowing about more than one market has it's advantages, fair?

Thinking about this, I crafted a list of simple defining questions, that if worked through, can simplify the approach to learning a new market:

"What exactly does it mean to know a market?"
"What is nice to know and what is required to know about the market?"